Happy 2023

The winds are changing already! There’s a beautiful fresh draft that wakes me up each morning, especially now, when the sudden foggy dawn is giving way to slightly sunny-side-up skies in this quaint coastal city.

The view from our 11th floor apartment is a stunning expanse of mountains on one side and sea on the other… allowing us to see a beautiful sunrise from one end to a sublime sunset from the other end of the house! Added to that are the benefits of living in a coastal town. Though the days are sunny, the evenings & mornings are always pleasant with cool winds blowing.

But somehow, this year proved to be an exception!

We were in the midst of celebrating our silver wedding anniversary in the last week of November when the cyclone stuck. Though the heavy rainfall passed quickly without much damage in these parts, the weather changed a huge degree after that. Strong winds were blowing forcing us indoors! The Sun almost refused to come out for a few days altogether !! So the only comfort was in watching movies on Netflix, playing monopoly or snuggling up on sofas under warm shawls and enjoying a good book with a strong cup of coffee!

Slowly over the month as the new year rolled in, the weather changed once again. The country celebrated harvest festivals of Pongal, Bihu, Sankranti over various zones while we enjoyed meeting friends, singing and having wonderful homemade foods & sweets!

Though the calendar has changed from 2022 to 2023, our wishes as we gather around the cozy corners at home stay simple. A warm blanket of love surrounds us all. The shared moments of fun & laughter, sometimes silly small fights between siblings adding a spice here-n-there, conversations ranging from teen talks to grown up banter and of course a shared passion for music, all abound!

Happy readings & a very happy 2023 !

7 thoughts on “Happy 2023

  1. A beautiful post, Shagun. I love all the different renditions of the sky (and I’m glad the cyclone didn’t do too much damage). I think you handled the stormy weather well. Thanks for the wonderful wishes for the new year. May all your dreams come true. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Diana and yes luckily the storm was less severe here so we are safe though the weather changes pretty fast! Isn’t the sky beautiful ❤️ I catch amazing colours often here in the skyline and marvel at the existence of the artist !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank u mam for your encouragement. Actually I wrote many poems in Oriya and I have a blog in bloggers.com.
    I write some quotations in English in an app (Your quote.in). I have a page ( My pen my feelings) in facebook where I write poems in Oriya. I also tried to write in ‘Pratilipi’ app.
    Now I started writing in Hindi.
    Actually I am getting a lot of time at home here as I am a home maker. And I love writing and reading. I am not writing that much good. But trying to write something.
    I will send you some of them. Please read and do comment. I will be happy. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello mam. This is Vanita.
    Happy new year.
    I always feel happy to read your posts.
    Sir knows my husband ( Prasad Rao). I tried to meet you at Vizag but somehow it never happened. We are living in Romania now.
    Waiting for new posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovely hearing from you Vanita & am glad you are enjoying your visits here! Will surely keep writing more posts as and when time permits.
      Romania is a beautiful country I’ve heard.. hope you enjoy your stay there and here’s wishing a very happy new year to you all !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am feeling much happy to see your reply mam. I am a big fan of you after reading your posts. I also write small poems in Hindi.
        Romania is a beautiful country. Now snowfall started. We miss the Indian food here. But we can definitely enjoy the beauty of nature ( the mountains and the landscapes) .
        Mostly in winter after watching the mountains covered with snow I felt like I am in heaven.
        Hope all of you are doing fine. I don’t want to miss the opportunity to meet you in my India trip in July.
        Thank you mam

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Good to know that you are enjoying the snow clad beautiful city 🙂 Till the time you return for a home visit, do keep writing your poems Vanita ! Who knows, you too might create and cherish a blog of your own someday 😍 Good luck!

          Like

Leave a comment